The Embroidered Truth

An ongoing search for inspiration and the good life.

The January blahs

on January 13, 2012

It’s January.  I can tell because it is cold outside (January and February are the two coldest months in Florida), and because I feel unmotivated and uncreative.  It happens every year.

Some people get rejuvenated at the beginning of the year, bursting gung-ho into resolutions to get in shape, eat better, clear out the clutter, etc.  I am usually on board with all that, but for me the excitement does not last past a couple of days after New Year’s.  Then the reality sets in that the fun of the holidays is really over, the bleakest months are ahead, and the next work holiday is Memorial Day – five months away.  Nothing seems like fun anymore.  I become moody, irritated and restless, and start to let housework slide, which makes me mad at myself and therefore even meaner.

None of this bodes well for my creative pursuits.  The only thing I have felt like doing is working on my cross-stitch project, “Father Winter,” which is coming very close to completion.  I have a long list of art and sewing projects I’d like to tackle, but starting something seems like a lot of trouble at the end of the day.  Most advice on creativity tells you that the very act of showing up, whether you think you feel like it or not, will prompt you to create something, but I think it’s a fine line between giving yourself a swift kick for motivation and forcing yourself before you are ready.  Forcing myself has never worked.  If I am not ready to do something, I’m just not ready, and the attempts at producing creative work show it.

I’ll eventually crawl out of this with the return of longer days and warmer temperatures, but I’d like to know: how do you stay motivated and creative during the winter doldrums?

2 responses to “The January blahs

  1. I have the medieval faire to look forward to and prepare for, which includes making costuming, etc. Plus rehearsals this year, which is making it even easier to stay “up”. After the faire, though, I go through the same sort of fallow period you’re describing. (( hugs ))

  2. Betty says:

    LOL…I feel you should beat them with a good stiff round of costume sewing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

