The Embroidered Truth

An ongoing search for inspiration and the good life.

“Father Winter” is complete!

on February 17, 2012

And here it is, kids.  My magnum opus (so far): Teresa Wentzler’s “Father Winter.”

Father Winter, completed February 2012.

This was a stitching marathon.  It’s a large design, with whitework specialty stitching and beading, and a complicated holly border around the central figure.  I worked on this piece from July 2010 to February 2012, although not continuously; I laid it aside for several weeks at a time when life got in the way.

Here are some closer looks at the details:

The bottom border details

The left side border

The right side border details.

It really is a beautiful piece, and I am happy with the result.  My next project is Joan Elliott’s “The Musician.”  Happy stitching!

2 responses to ““Father Winter” is complete!

  1. Beautiful indeed! You did wonderful work there, Laurel.

    I’m a Wentzler fan, although I don’t really x-stitch any more, as I find it takes so long to make real progress and I’ve been much more into immediate-ish gratification these last few years. Still, I have a completed-but-unframed Wentzler of my own: the English Cottage Sampler. What a gorgeous pattern, with most of the colorways made up of one strand of this and a second strand of that. The resulting color effects are subtle and sophisticated. Still, it took me several years to finish it, so there’s not a snowball’s chance that I’ll undertake another anytime soon.

    Stitch on, my songbird friend!

    • lmring says:

      That is a pretty one! I understand – it is a time commitment, and is not for everyone. I took this piece to the cross stitch shop in Trenton this weekend and the owner told me it would probably appraise at around $1,300-$1,400. She said most stitchers have no idea what their work is worth!

Leave a Reply

